Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize


Since 2005, Toulouse School of Economics organises the annual Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize which is awarded to a renowned international economist whose research, in the spirit of the work undertaken by Professor Jean-Jacques Laffont, combines both the theoretical and the empirical. The prize winner presents his or her work at a public lecture, in partnership with the city hall "Mairie de Toulouse".

2023 Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize

This year, the Prize will be awarded to Pierre-André CHIAPPORI from Columbia University.

More information coming soon.







Nobel prize



Philippe Aghion

Collège de France



Roland J. M. Bénabou

Princetown University



Matthew O. Jackson

Stanford University



Marianne Bertrand

Chicago University



Daron Acemoglu





Ariel Pakes

Harvard University




Susan Athey

Standford University




Elhanan Helpman

Harvard University




Joseph E. Stiglitz

Columbia University




Eric Maskin

Harvard University




Robert Townsend





Robert Wilson

Standford University




Roger Myerson

University of Chicago




Richard Blundell

University College London (UCL)




Stephen Ross





Daniel McFadden

University of California, Berkeley




Peter A. Diamond






The prize winners present their work at a public event wich is largely attended by business leaders, decisions makers, economists, TSE students and researches.

Year Laureate Lectures University Nobel prize
2022 Philippe AGHION Rethink Capitalism : the power of creative destruction Collège de France  
2021 Roland BENABOU Beliefs and Misbeliefs: The Economics of Wishful Thinking Princeton University  
2020 Matthew O. JACKSON The Dynamics of Social Networks and some of their Economic Consequences Stanford University  
2019 Marianne BERTRAND Gender Inequalities in the 21st Century University of Chicago Booth School of Business  
2018 Daron ACEMOGLU A narrow path to freedom: what weight for the state in the face of civil society? MIT Economics  
2017 Ariel PAKES Price and productivity: from company's choices to market results. Harvard University  
2016 Susan ATHEY The Internet and the News Industry Standford Business School of Graduate  
2015 Elhanan HELPMAN Globalization and inequalities Harvard University  
2014 Joseph. E. Stiglitz Creating the knowledge society: a new approach to growth, development and social progress Columbia University - Columbia Business School 2001
2013 Eric MASKIN Topic in Elections and Mechanism Design. Harvard University 2007
2012 Robert M. TOWNSEND Financial Design and Economic Development MIT Economics  
2010 Robert B. WILSON Stringent Criteria for Rational Strategic Behavior. Standford Business School of Graduate 2020
2009 Roger MYERSON State-Building, Leadership, and Local Democracy. University of Chicago 2007
2008 Richard BLUNDELL Designing a Tax System for the 21st Century: The Role of Theory and Evidence. University College London  
2007 Stephen ROSS The Cost of Social Security. University of Connecticut  
2006 Daniel McFADDEN How Consumers Respond to Incentives. University of California, Berkeley  2000
2005 Peter A. DIAMOND Pensions for an Aging Population. MIT Economics 2010


Before Professor Laffont's passing, the Institute organized each year a distinguished lecture honoring an internationally recognized economist.

2004 James HECKMAN The Technology of Human Skill Formation and its Implications for Public Policy. University of Chicago 2000
2003 Olivier Jean BLANCHARD Peut-on éliminer le chômage en Europe? MIT  
2002 Tony ATKINSON La distribution des revenus dans les pays de l'OCDE au XXème siècle. Oxford University  
2001 Dale JORGENSON Information Technology and Economic Growth. Harvard University  
2000 James MIRRLESS What Taxes Should There Be? Cambridge University 1996
1999 William NORDHAUS Global Public Goods and the Problem of Global Warming. Yale University 2018
1997 Hayne LELAND Produits dérivés et gestion du risque dans les grandes entreprises américaines. Haas School of Business (Univ. California Berkeley)  
1996 Paul SAMUELSON American and European Economic Divergences at Centuries End. MIT 1970
1995 Kenneth ARROW Discounting Climate Change : Planning for an Uncertain Future. Stanford University 1972
1994 Jacques DREZE L'emploi en Europe. University of Liège  
1993 Robert SOLOW La Nouvelle Politique Economique américaine. MIT  1987