Monetary economics with the Bank of France

Since 2007, the Banque de France and TSE have worked together to support and strengthen excellence in economic research in France, and make key contributions to international economic debate and expertise. As part of their partnership, the Banque de France and TSE work together on issues such as monetary economics and finance – themes of scientific excellence for TSE.

In 2012, the Banque de France and the Toulouse School of Economics launched a series of prizes in Monetary Economics and Finance. These prizes, granted every two years, distinguish academic researchers (Senior and Junior) who have developed central concepts to improve our understanding of Monetary Economics and Finance. The aim of the prizes is to foster conceptual progress that will eventually allow the design and implementation of improved policies by central banks.

Every two years, a senior prize and two junior prizes are awarded to researchers who develop fundamental concepts to help us understand monetary economics, finance and bank supervision. The award highlight research that improve the way in which central banks operate.


Senior Prize 

Junior Prize


Michael Woodford

Coumbia University

Victoria Vanasco

Barcelona Graduate School of Economics

Yuriy Gorodnichenkoi

Berkeley University


Olivier Blanchard


Ricardo Reis

London School of Economics

Amir Sufi

University of Chicago


Nobuhiro Kiyotaki

Princenton University

Ralph Koijen

London Business School

Iván Werning

MIT University



Lasse Heje Pedersen

Copenhagen Business School

Emmanuel Farhi

Harvard University


Bengt R. Holmström

MIT University

Klaus Adam

Mannheim University

Viral V. Acharya

Stern School of Business (NY)


The prize winners present their work at a public event wich is largely attended by business leaders, decisions makers, economists, TSE students and researches.

Distinguished lectures Program Press release
Prizes in Monetary Economics and Finance ceremony award, 2019
Prizes in Monetary Economics and Finance ceremony award, 2017
Prizes in Monetary Economics and Finance ceremony award, 2015
Prizes in Monetary Economics and Finance ceremony award, 2012