TSE- R is  a mixed research unit (UMR ) created by the merger on 1st January 2016 of three economic research units.

TSE-R is a joint research unit (UMR) created in 2016 which oversees the administration of TSE's thematic groups.

TSE-R is under tutelage of the CNRS (UMR 5314), the INRAE (UMR 1415), the EHESS, and the University Toulouse 1 Capitole.

The Director of TSE-R is Arnaud Reynaud (INRA). Philippe De Donder (CNRS) is the Deputy Director.