Bio and Research Interests

Research interests

Industrial Organization
Organization Theory
Game Theory


Jean Tirole is chairman of the Foundation JJ Laffont-Toulouse School of Economics (TSE), and scientific director of the Institute for Industrial Economics (IDEI), University of Toulouse Capitole. He is also affiliated with MIT, where he holds a visiting position, the Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (EHHESS), and with the Institute for Advanced Study in Toulouse (IAST), which he helped found in 2011.He is ingénieur général des ponts, des eaux et des forêts. Before moving to Toulouse in 1991, he was professor of economics at MIT. He was president of the Econometric Society in 1998 and of the European Economic Association in 2001.
Jean Tirole has given over eighty distinguished lectures and has published about two hundred articles in economics and finance, as well as 11 books. He received his PhD in economics from MIT in 1981, engineering degrees from Ecole Polytechnique, Paris (1976) and from Ecole Nationale des Ponts et Chaussées, Paris (1978) and a “Doctorat de 3ème cycle” in decision mathematics from the University Paris IX (1978).
He holds Honorary Doctorate degrees from the Free University in Brussels (1989), the London Business School (2007), HEC Montreal (2007), the University of Mannheim (2011), the Athens School of Business and Economics (2012), the University of Rome 2 (2012), Hitotsubashi University (2013) , Université de Lausanne (2013) ,EUI Florence (2015) and Luis U. Rome (2015). Among other prizes and honors, he received the Yrjö Jahnsson prize of the European Economic Association (granted every other year to an economist under the age of 45 who has made a contribution in theoretical and applied research that is significant to economics in Europe) in 1993, the gold medal of the CNRS in 2007 (the second economist, after Allais in 1978, to receive this medal, attributed to one researcher every year since 1954), and was the inaugural winner of the BBVA Frontiers of Knowledge Awards in economics, finance and management in 2008. He received the CME-MSRI award and the Levi-Strauss prize in 2010 and the Ross prize in 2013. He is the laureate of the 2014 Nemmers prize in economics and received the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel in the same year. He is a foreign honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1993) and of the American Economic Association (1993). He was elected to Allais’ chair at the French Académie des Sciences Morales et Politiques in 2011.

Current position

2013Member of the French Strategic Research Council
2011Chairman of the Executive Committee, Institute for Advanced Study in Toulouse (IAST)
2011Member of the Académie des Sciences Morales et Politiques
2009Chairman of the Board of Directors, Toulouse School of Economics
2008Member of the Conseil d'Analyse Économique of the Prime Minister
1995Directeur d'Etudes cumulant, EHESS
1992Scientific director, Institut d'Économie Industrielle
1992Visiting Professor MIT

Former positions

2007 - 2009Director, Toulouse School of Economics
2006 - 2009Fellow of the Haut Conseil de la Sciences et de la Technologie
2001President, European Economic Association
1998President, Econometric Society
1984 - 1991Professor of Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1981 - 1984Researcher; CERAS, École Nationale des Ponts et Chaussées


1981Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1978Engineer, École Nationale des Ponts et Chaussées
1978Docteur de 3ème Cycle, Decision Mathematics, Paris IX - Dauphine
1976Engineer, École Polytechnique
1976Diplôme d'Étude Approfondie, Decision Mathematics, Paris IX -Dauphine

Grants and awards

2014Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel
2014Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics
2013Stephen A. Ross Prize in Financial Economics
2013Honorary doctorate degree, Hitotsubashi University
2013Honorary doctorate degree, Université de Lausanne
2013Honorary Fellow of the Royal of Society of Edinburgh
2012Honorary doctorate degree, Athens University of Economics and Business
2012Honorary doctorate degree, University of Rome Tor Vergata
2012Grand Prix of the "Académie d'Occitanie"
2011ILB and EIF Award for the best paper in finance ("Leverage and the Central Banker's Put") written with Emmanuel Farhi
2011Member, Académie des Sciences morales et politiques
2011Honorary doctorate degree, University of Mannheim
2010European Research Council Grant
2010CME Group - Mathematical Sciences Research Institute Prize in Innovation Quantitative Applications
2010Claude Levi-Strauss Prize
2010Officier dans l’Ordre National du Mérite
2009Fellow of the Academie des Sciences, Inscriptions et Belles Lettres de Toulouse
2008(Inaugural) Frontiers of Knowledge Award of the BBVA Foundation
2008Cercle d'Oc Prize
2007Chevalier de la légion d'honneur
2007"Risques" - "Les Echos" Award
2007Honorary doctorate degree, London Business School
2007Honorary doctorate degree, HEC Montreal
2007Gold medal, CNRS
2007Gold medal, city of Toulouse
2004Institute of Scientific Information-Thomson Price Winner in Economics
2002Médaille d'argent, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
2002Lauréat du Prix Dargélos de l'Ecole Polytechnique
1999Distinguished Fellow Award, Industrial Organization Society
1998John von Neumann Award, Rajk Lazlo College for Advanced Studies, Budapest University
1997Public Utility Research Center Distinguished Service Award, University of Florida, Gainesville
1996Center for Economic Studies Prize, Munich
1993Foreign Honorary Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
1993Foreign Honorary Member, American Economic Association
1993Yrjo Jahnsson prize of the European Economic Association
1989Doctorat Honoris Causa, Université Libre de Bruxelles
1988 - 1989John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Fellowship
1985 - 1987Sloan Fellowship




  • Marking to Market versus Taking to Market, November 13, 2016 (with Guillaume Plantin)
    [Full text]

  • Cognition-Intensive Contracting, July 22, 2015
    [Full text]

  • Cognitive Games and Cognitive Traps, July 2015
    [Full text]

  • Shrouded Transaction Costs, September 20, 2014 (with Hélène Bourguignon and Renato Gomes)
    [Full text]

  • Deadly Embrace: Sovereign and Financial Balance Sheets Doom Loops, October 28, 2016 (with Emmanuel Farhi)
    [Full text]
  • Pandering and Pork-Barrel Politics, July 23, 2014 (with Eric Maskin): under revision
  • Laws and Norms (with R. Bénabou): under revision
  • Cooperation vs. Collusion: How Essentiality Shapes Co-opetition (with P. Rey): under revision


Jean Tirole was awarded the 2014 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.

Press release 

Official Nobel prize resources

Nobel prize lecture

Nobel prize acceptance speech 

Nobel committee "scientific background" document on Tirole's work