





The Banque de France and the Toulouse School of Economics have launched a series of prizes in Monetary Economics and Finance. These prizes, granted annually for the Junior Prize and every two years for the Senior Prize, distinguish academic researchers who have developed central concepts to improve our understanding of Monetary Economics and Finance. The aim of the prizes is to foster conceptual progress that will eventually allow the design and implementation of improved policies by central banks.

Paris, 16 March 2012 Galerie dorée, Banque de France

PROGRAMME

14.00 - 14.10	Welcoming remarks Robert Ophèle (Banque de France)	
14.10 – 16.00	Chair: Robert Ophèle	
	Collateral crises, Gary Gorton (Yale) and Guillermo Ordonez(Yale)	
	Discussant : Klaus Adam (U. Mannheim)	
	A Macroeconomic Framework for Quantifying Systemic Risk, Arvind Krishnamurthy (Northwestern) and Zhiguo He (Booth School of Management)	
	Discussant : Viral Acharya (NY University)	
16.00 - 16.30	Coffee break	
16.30 – 17.30	Chair: David Thesmar (HEC)	
	Capital Regulation and Credit Cycles, Jean-Charles Rochet (U. Zurich) and Hans Gersbach (ETH)	
	Discussant: Jean Tirole (TSE)	





Award Ceremony

17.45 - 18.15	Award of the Junior Prizes
	Jean Tirole, Christian Hellwig
	Speeches of the two laureates

18.15–19.00

Award of the Senior Prize *Christian Noyer*

Speech of the laureate

19.00–20.00 Cocktail

20.15 Dinner (by invitation)





The Banque de France - Toulouse School of Economics



NATURE OF THE PRIZE

The Banque de France and the Toulouse School of Economics are jointly launching two prizes to distinguish leading economists in the fields of Monetary Economics and Finance:

- The Biennial Senior Prize:

It carries a cash award of 30,000 euros. The award winner will give a keynote speech in Paris before receiving his award by the governor of the Banque de France.

- The Annual Junior Prizes, awarded to two economists below the age of 41:

- One to a researcher affiliated with a European-based institution
- One to a researcher affiliated with an institution based outside Europe.

Laureates of the Junior prize must spend at least four weeks as a visiting researcher between the Banque de France and TSE. Each prize carries a cash award of 15,000 euros plus travel and living expenses.

NOMINATION PROCESS & DOCUMENTATION

Nominations can be made by any institution or economist for either prize. Self applications are allowed for the Junior Prize only.

Nominations to either prize must describe:

- The award category (Junior, Senior)
- The candidate's name and affiliation
- The candidate's CV
- The recommender's name, contact details and affiliation.

Furthermore :

Nominations to the Senior Prize should be accompanied by a short explanation of salient scientific contributions of the Nominee.

Nominations and applications to the Junior Prize should be accompanied at most three papers and two confidential reference letters.

Applications and nominations, which will remain valid for five years (unless withdrawn by the nominating institution or individual), must be uploaded from the prize website:





- **2012 Junior Prize application** (Submission deadline: 1 December 2012)
- 2013 Senior Prize application (Submission deadline: 1st June 2013)

2011 JURY

The nine members of the 2011 Jury are:

- Jean-Pierre Landau (former Deputy Governor, Banque de France; co-chair)
- Jean Tirole (President, TSE; co-chair)
- **Daron Acemoglu** (Professor, MIT)
- <u>Stanley Fischer</u> (Governor, Central Bank of Israel)
- <u>Christian Hellwig</u> (Professor, TSE)
- <u>Pierre Jaillet</u> (Director General Economics and International, Banque de France)
- **<u>Robert Ophèle</u>** (Deputy Governor, Banque de France)
- Jean-Charles Rochet (Professor, TSE)
- **David Thesmar** (Professor, HEC Paris)